Winter Is Coming

Sigh. The bike is now stored for the winter. Got the bike stored in a nice warm indoor location nearby. Sweet dreams… (Do electric motorcycles dream of android drivers?)

The weather has been pretty awful last couple weeks and I haven’t really driven it much lately. Today was the last time this year. (And it was fun.) I’m really gonna miss driving on two wheels… The total I got to drive on electric was just over 400km. The bike worked like a charm and I used it about ten times to drive to work before the weather got too lousy to drive. It’s been raining all the time and the temperature has been close to freezing (some mornings there’s been some ice on the roads). So the driving season 2013 is really finally over.

During the winter I’m planning to do at least the new speedo cluster and install the new headlight mounts. And maybe some fairing work and a proper cover for the top battery box. If I have time…

2 thoughts on “Winter Is Coming

  1. Just found your blog, what a great looking bike you’ve done! I hope you’ll find time for a car conversion just to see the result;) It’s nice to hear that the ME1003 gives such speeds in a motorcycle. I used the same motor in my low cost car conversion and it is only good on roads up to 60kph, but that is enough for my commuting.
    I found the bottom balancing method interesting. Will definitely read more about that for future projects. Thanks for sharing your project! It definitely encourages to start a motorcycle conversion.

  2. Thanks! And also huge congratulations for your Corolla eFX-87! I just went to read your blog. Magnificient stuff over there! If the ME-1003 can move a one ton car at 84km/h it really can push a motorcycle as well. I think the motor is just the perfect size for a commuter bike like mine. If I did a car conversion I could be tempted to buy a Porsche 944 or a Toyota Celica as the frame. Either that or VW Beetle or Fiat 500/600. Once I also looked for Karmann-Ghia’s… Oh well, maybe when the kids are more grown up. ;-)

Leave a Reply

